Re-watching Harry Potter: The Sorcerer’s Stone

I will never forget the wonder of seeing the first Harry Potter film in the theaters. I was 12 years old and sitting in-between mom and dad, whispering hurried explanations to mom and staring in amazement as the scenes in my head came to life. Every moment I recognised as a piece of the book I so loved on screen was magical. And now, after innumerable number of re-reads and re-watches, the magic still remains.

I re-watched Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone this weekend with my friend and this was mostly written on my smartphone while watching! It is amazing that even now I still spot details and make connections to the books! The books are so rich in detail and the movies, regardless of my numerous problems with it, do a pretty good job in maintaining it!

Spoilers for the whole series ahead!

Awww little Dan is so adorable!

I’ve always wondered about muggle families receiving their very first Hogwarts letter. Wouldn’t they think it was all a hoax or something? I mean, they would not have any way to actually confirm that this school exists.

The first view of Diagon Alley is so magical and one of my favourite moments! And the music! (Is there instructions in the letter on how to get to Diagon Alley, for muggle-borns, I mean? I don’t remember if there was anything mentioned in the books. Time for a re-read, I think!)

The cobwebs on the chandeliers are totally my aesthetic!

I want to know how Hagrid got the Potters’ vault key. Dumbledore must have given it to him. If so, how did Dumbledore get it? I’m guessing James must have had it and I don’t think James had any time to hand over belongings etc. Or is there any other magical way it gets transferred?

I’ve never spotted the Daily Prophet in Diagon Alley till today O_O

Why don’t they just mention on the letter how to get onto the platform? Again, how do muggle-borns figure all this out the first time?

The queen is here!

I cry at this scene…every single time!

Seriously, every one is cast so perfectly! McGonagall and Malfoy are straight out of my head!

It would be amazing if JKR wrote ‘Hogwarts: A History’ like Fantastic Beasts!

If you don’t want your students going near the dark forest, don’t build your school next to the dark forest!

This scene is so precious and one of my favourite scenes in the whole franchise. Harry is finally home. Now I’ve made myself sad 😦

My friend wondered at this point, as Fluffy has three heads, is it one dog or three dogs?

The amazement of seeing the quidditch pitch never, never fades!

I know the flesh memory linked to Harry’s tongue but that was a chance occurrence here. Wouldn’t it not work since he is wearing gloves? I don’t remember if he was wearing gloves in the books. Again, time for a re-read!

Many say Hogwarts is the prettiest at Christmas but I love Hogwarts’ Halloween more! That bat on the apples makes me so happy!

I keep rewinding to hear Dumbledore’s ‘SILENCE’ again and again!

Wizard’s Chess is one of the coolest things in the Harry Potter world.

The ‘I’ve got presents?’ breaks my heart every time.

The most powerful death glare in the history of death glares!

‘Think you are……………………………………………………………………………………………………………
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… up to something’
Never gets old!

The movies left out so many iconic dialogues though!

Harry: So light a fire!
Hermione: Yes… of course… but there’s no wood!
Ron: HAVE YOU GONE MAD! ARE YOU A WITCH OR NOT!

This is gold! I don’t understand the need to change something when it doesn’t really have an impact on run-time or narrative >.<

I’m just imagining Quirrel with Voldemort doing all these puzzles.

It took me an embarrassingly huge no. of re-watches to realise that the reason only Ron is sitting on a piece is because he is a knight and that is his horse.

I love Ron so much. He is so scared but never even thinks about not going on!

Still give me chills. Serious chills.

This scene is so unfair though.

This album bugs me though. In Prisoner of Azkaban, Harry sees and recognises Sirius from it. If so, shouldn’t there be a photo of Remus in there somewhere too? And wouldn’t that lead to Harry recognising him. If not on the train, sometime during the year?

Byebye, Harry! Till next time~

 

 

Leave a Reply

